ASSIST Final Conference

What are the barriers and solutions to tackle energy poverty at local and European levels? The answers will be discussed during ASSIST’s Final conference at the European Economic and Social Committee in Brussels on 2 April 2020.

The conference “From local to European: barriers and solutions to tackle Energy Poverty” will bring different actors, including stakeholders and policy decision makers, tackling energy poverty from both local and European levels.

Download the draft agenda in PDF format.

Registrations will open mid-February. Stay tuned!


9h00 – 9h25 Opening and Welcome

· Marina Varvesi, ASSIST coordinator
· Kadri Simson, Commissioner of DG Energy, European Commission (tbc)

9h25 – 10h35 Round table: How local actions and social innovations are necessary to put vulnerable consumers at the heart of policies addressing energy poverty
Moderator: Marta Garcia, ECOSERVEIS

· Discussion with National Vulnerable Consumers Steering Committee members from Italy, Spain, Finland, UK, Poland and Belgium
· Discussion with the audience

10h35 – 11h20 Challenges to tackle energy poverty: views from EU projects

· Silvia Vivarelli, EASME
· Marina Varvesi, ASSIST coordinator
· European projects on Energy Poverty
     - Cezara Popovici, STEP coordinator, Horizon 2020 project
· Clotilde Clark-Foulquier, FEANTSA
· Discussion with the audience

11h20 - 11h45 Coffee break & networking

11h45 - 12h55 Round table: EU policy to tackle energy poverty and protect vulnerable consumers in Europe: proposal and recommendations
Moderator: Mathias Maucher, European Anti-Poverty Network (EAPN)

· Maria Jeliazkova, EAPN Bulgaria, ASSIST partner presenting the Vulnerable Consumers Protection Framework Paper
· Pierre-Jean Coulon, President of the TEN section at the EESC
· Pablo Sánchez Centellas, EPSU
· Cornelia Ernst, Member of the European Parliament, GUE/NGL group
· Giustino Piccolo, Covenant of Mayors
· Julien Dijol, Housing Europe
· Discussion with the audience

12h55 - 13h10 Closing

· Pierre-Jean Coulon, President of the TEN section at the EESC